GCSE – Double Award Science




A time allocation of ten periods will be provided. Biology, Chemistry and Physics components are taught separately by specialist teachers. The scheme of assessment will be unitised and consists of three units in Year 11 and three terminal units in Year 12 with practical skills assessed in practice and through a written examination. Two grades are awarded, hence the name Double Award Science.


Course Content & Method of Assessment

Tier                  Grades covered

Higher             A*A* – GG

Foundation      CC – GG

Double Intermediate grades such as A*A or BC are also awarded.

The table below indicates the different specification areas and their corresponding weighting.

Unit Content Weighting
Biology Unit 1 (B1) Cells, Living Processes and Biodiversity 11%
Chemistry Unit 1 (C1) Structures, Trends, Chemical Reactions, Quantitative Chemistry and Analysis 11%
Physics Unit 1 (P1) Motion, Force, Moments, Energy, Density, Kinetic Theory, Radioactivity, Nuclear Fission and Fusion 11%
Biology Unit 2 (B2) Body Systems, Genetics, Microorganisms and Health 14%
Chemistry Unit 2 (C2) Further Chemical Reactions, rates and equilibrium, calculations and organic Chemistry 14%
Physics Unit 2 (P2) Waves, Light, Electricity, Magnetism, Electromagnetism and Space Physics 14%
Unit 7: Practical Skills [A] Practical Skills


[B] External Written    Examination set in a practical context for Biology, Chemistry and Physics






Career Opportunities

You must achieve good grades in Double Award Science if you want to be a doctor, dentist, nurse, pharmacist, optician, speech therapist, physiotherapist, medical physicist, veterinary surgeon, veterinary nurse; an engineer or technician of any kind, whether in brewing, fashion, leather or printing; any kind of research scientist – astronomer, biochemist, environmental scientist, forensic scientist; a primary or post primary teacher.